Digit, Agility Robotics’ bipedal mobile-manipulation robot. Image courtesy of Agility Robotics.
Company identity
Agility Robotics is a U.S. robotics company building bipedal robots for material-handling work in logistics and manufacturing. Its central product, Digit, is designed to move through human-oriented facilities and handle items such as reusable totes without requiring an entirely new building layout. The company currently has paid commercial agreements, but it remains in the early stage of converting a limited number of deployments into a large installed fleet.
Agility describes Digit as a general-purpose humanoid. A narrower editorial definition is more useful: today, Digit is an industrial mobile-manipulation system with a demonstrated focus on repetitive material movement. Its significance comes from operating inside live customer workflows, not from evidence that it can perform arbitrary human work.
Basic information
| Field | Information |
|---|---|
| Formal name | Agility Robotics, Inc. |
| Founded | 2015 |
| Headquarters | Salem, Oregon, United States |
| Founders | Jonathan Hurst and Damion Shelton |
| Chief executive | Peggy Johnson |
| Ownership | Privately held; definitive business-combination agreement with Churchill Capital Corp XI announced in June 2026, subject to closing conditions |
| Employee count | Not publicly disclosed in current source set |
| Primary product | Digit humanoid robot |
| Operating platform | Agility Arc |
| Manufacturing site | RoboFab, Salem, Oregon |
| Website | agilityrobotics.com |
Founding team and leadership
Agility emerged from Jonathan Hurst’s Dynamic Robotics Laboratory at Oregon State University. Hurst’s research focused on legged locomotion, including the ATRIAS research platform and Cassie, a two-legged robot that preceded Digit. He remains co-founder and Chief Robot Officer. Damion Shelton co-founded the company and served as chief executive from 2015 until 2024; he is now chairman of the board.
Peggy Johnson became CEO in March 2024 after leading Magic Leap and holding senior business-development roles at Microsoft and Qualcomm. The appointment marked a shift from founder-led product development toward enterprise sales and commercialization. The current leadership team also includes Chief Technology Officer Pras Velagapudi and executives responsible for business, finance, operations and hardware scale-up.
Products and programs
Digit is a human-scale biped with arms intended to combine mobility and material handling. Its first commercial workflows center on moving totes between existing automation and work areas. The robot is not sold as an unrestricted autonomous worker: Agility develops applications with customers and integrates Digit into a defined operational process.
Agility Arc is the software layer for deploying and managing robot fleets. The company says Arc coordinates Digit with warehouse-management systems, conveyors and autonomous mobile robots while exposing fleet status and workflow controls. Public pricing and the exact division between standard Arc functions and customer-specific integration are not disclosed.
RoboFab is Agility’s 70,000-square-foot manufacturing facility in Salem. When announced in 2023, Agility said the factory was designed to scale beyond 10,000 robots per year. That is a design-capacity claim, not evidence of current annual output. The company’s 2026 transaction announcement refers to Digit v5 as the platform intended for larger commercial deployment; delivery volume and general availability remain developing facts.
Core technology
Agility’s technical foundation combines dynamically stable bipedal locomotion, whole-body control and manipulation. The body plan is optimized for spaces and processes built around people, but Digit’s backward-bending legs and compact torso are engineering choices rather than an attempt to reproduce human anatomy literally.
The company uses learned control alongside engineered locomotion and safety systems. This hybrid approach matters because a warehouse product must repeatedly recover, balance and complete a task, not merely generate an impressive motion once. Agility also works with NVIDIA and Google DeepMind on physical-AI tools, but partner technology should not be treated as proprietary Agility capability unless it appears in a deployed Digit workflow.
Financing history
| Date | Financing event | Disclosed amount | Editorial treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 2018 | Funding led by Playground Global | $8 million; company said cumulative funding reached $8.792 million | Completed financing |
| October 2020 | Round co-led by DCVC and Playground Global | $20 million; company said cumulative funding reached $29 million | Completed financing |
| April 2022 | Series B led by DCVC and Playground Global | $150 million | Completed financing; not added again to the earlier cumulative total |
| November 2024 | Strategic investment and commercial agreement with Schaeffler | Amount not disclosed | Completed strategic investment; excluded from disclosed-dollar total |
| June 2026 | Proposed combination with Churchill Capital Corp XI | $2.5 billion pre-money equity value; more than $620 million expected gross proceeds, including about $200 million PIPE | Pending transaction, not completed financing |
The publicly identified completed rounds establish at least $179 million in cumulative disclosed funding through the 2022 Series B when the company’s earlier cumulative figure is used correctly. The Schaeffler amount is undisclosed. The proposed SPAC proceeds must not be counted as cash received unless the transaction closes.
Partnerships and deployment
GXO provides Agility’s clearest commercial evidence. After a 2023 proof of concept, the companies announced a multi-year Robots-as-a-Service agreement in June 2024 for Digit to move totes at a GXO facility near Atlanta. Agility later reported that Digit had moved more than 100,000 totes at that site. The agreement and live operation are confirmed by both companies; detailed fleet size, customer economics and independent uptime figures are not public.
Agility has since announced commercial agreements with Schaeffler, Mercado Libre and Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada. Mercado Libre said Digit would enter its San Antonio fulfillment operation before the parties explored additional Latin American uses. These agreements show customer intent, but they should not all be described as scaled deployments until robot counts, operating dates and results are reported.
Amazon tested Digit and invested through the Amazon Industrial Innovation Fund. That relationship is relevant to product development, but an experiment and an investment do not by themselves establish a production contract.
Business model
Agility sells an enterprise automation outcome built around Digit, Arc integration and ongoing operational support. The GXO agreement identifies a Robots-as-a-Service structure, which can shift the customer decision from buying an experimental capital asset to paying for a managed system over time.
The company has not publicly disclosed standard pricing, contract margins, service cost, expected robot lifetime or the utilization level required for profitable operation. Its June 2026 transaction announcement says it has secured more than $300 million in multi-year Digit v5 orders. That figure is a company claim about contracted orders, not recognized revenue or proof that every robot has been delivered.
Development timeline
- 2015: Agility Robotics is founded from work at Oregon State University’s Dynamic Robotics Laboratory.
- 2016: Cassie, the company’s bipedal research platform, takes its first steps.
- 2019: Agility introduces Digit as a complete mobile-manipulation robot.
- 2022: The company raises a $150 million Series B to expand development and production.
- 2023: Agility announces RoboFab and begins a proof of concept with GXO.
- 2024: Peggy Johnson becomes CEO; GXO and Agility sign a multi-year RaaS deployment agreement.
- 2025: Agility reports that Digit has moved more than 100,000 totes in the GXO operation and announces further commercial agreements.
- 2026: The company announces Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada as a commercial customer and signs a definitive business-combination agreement with Churchill Capital Corp XI.
Evidence ledger
Confirmed
- Agility was founded in 2015 by Jonathan Hurst and Damion Shelton.
- Peggy Johnson has served as CEO since March 2024.
- GXO and Agility signed a multi-year RaaS agreement following a proof of concept.
- RoboFab exists as Agility’s manufacturing facility in Salem.
- Churchill Capital Corp XI and Agility signed a definitive merger agreement in June 2026; the transaction had not closed at the research cutoff.
Company claim
- Digit moved more than 100,000 totes at a GXO facility.
- RoboFab can scale beyond 10,000 robots annually.
- Agility has secured more than $300 million in multi-year Digit v5 orders.
- Digit v5 is intended to become a cooperatively safe AI-enabled humanoid.
Unknown
- Current installed Digit fleet and annual production output.
- Standard RaaS price, gross margin and customer payback period.
- Digit’s independently measured uptime and intervention rate.
- How many announced commercial agreements have entered continuous production operation.
- Final proceeds, ownership structure and closing date of the proposed public transaction.
Editorial assessment
Agility’s strongest differentiation is operational evidence. It has moved beyond a laboratory demonstration into a paid logistics workflow with a named customer, then used that reference to pursue additional agreements. Its focused initial task also makes commercial sense: tote movement is repetitive, measurable and compatible with existing automation.
The risk is the distance between a working deployment and a scalable business. A small fleet can receive intensive engineering support that would be uneconomic across hundreds of customer sites. RoboFab capacity and contracted-order figures indicate ambition and demand, but the next decisive evidence is sustained fleet operation with disclosed robot counts, uptime, service effort and customer expansion.
Agility therefore occupies a more advanced commercial position than many humanoid startups without yet proving mass deployment. The proposed public transaction could finance the next stage while also exposing the company to public-market pressure before its unit economics are visible.
Update history
- 2026-09-02: Profile created with the proposed Churchill transaction, current leadership, commercial agreements and GXO deployment evidence.
Related reporting
No related Embodied AI Insights article is assigned at publication draft stage.
Sources & evidence
- Agility Robotics company and leadership page — company source; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Agility Robotics to go public through merger with Churchill Capital Corp XI — company and transaction-party announcement, June 24, 2026; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Churchill Capital Corp XI current report — SEC filing, June 24, 2026; accessed September 2, 2026.
- GXO signs multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics — named customer source, June 2024; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Digit moves more than 100,000 totes — company deployment update; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Opening RoboFab — company manufacturing announcement, September 18, 2023; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Agility Robotics raises $150 million Series B — company financing announcement, April 22, 2022; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Agility Robotics raises $20 million — company financing announcement, October 15, 2020; accessed September 2, 2026.
- Agility Robotics secures $8 million — company financing announcement, March 22, 2018; accessed September 2, 2026.
Sources
Accessed: September 2, 2026
Company and leadership
-
Company — Agility Robotics. Official company history, leadership, offices, customers and development chronology.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/company -
Agility Robotics appoints Peggy Johnson as Chief Executive Officer — Agility Robotics, March 4, 2024. Leadership transition and commercialization mandate.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-robotics-appoints-peggy-johnson-as-chief-executive-officer
Products, manufacturing and deployment
-
Opening RoboFab: World’s first factory for humanoid robots — Agility Robotics, September 18, 2023. Facility size, planned production capacity and initial manufacturing schedule.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/opening-robofab-worlds-first-factory-for-humanoid-robots -
GXO signs industry-first multi-year agreement with Agility Robotics — GXO, June 2024. Named customer confirmation of the RaaS agreement and prior proof of concept.
https://investors.gxo.com/node/9401/pdf -
Digit deployed at GXO in historic humanoid RaaS agreement — Agility Robotics, June 2024. Company account of the deployment scope.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/digit-deployed-at-gxo-in-historic-humanoid-raas-agreement -
Digit moves over 100,000 totes in commercial deployment — Agility Robotics. Company-reported operational milestone.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/digit-moves-over-100k-totes -
Mercado Libre and Agility Robotics announce commercial agreement — Agility Robotics and Mercado Libre, December 2025. Planned San Antonio deployment and expansion scope.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/mercado-libre-and-agility-robotics-announce-commercial-agreement
Financing and transaction
-
Agility Robotics secures $8M in funding — Agility Robotics, March 22, 2018. Round amount, investors and cumulative funding.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-robotics-secures-8m-in-funding -
Agility Robotics raises $20 million — Agility Robotics, October 15, 2020. Round amount, investors and $29M cumulative total at that date.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-robotics-raises-20-million -
Agility Robotics raises $150M Series B — Agility Robotics, April 22, 2022. Round amount, lead investors and stated use of funds.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-robotics-raises-150m-series-b-led-by-dcvc-and-playground-global -
Agility Robotics to go public through merger with Churchill Capital Corp XI — joint announcement, June 24, 2026. Proposed valuation, proceeds, PIPE, orders and transaction conditions.
https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-robotics-to-go-public-through-merger-with-churchill-capital-corp-xi -
Churchill Capital Corp XI current report — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, filed June 24, 2026. Confirms execution of the merger agreement and pending transaction structure.
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2074973/000121390026071287/ea0295484-8k425_church11.htm -
Agreement and Plan of Merger and Reorganization — U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, June 24, 2026. Primary transaction document.
https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/2074973/000121390026071290/ea029548401ex2-1.htm
Image materials
- Agility Robotics Press Kit — official newsroom download containing company photography and brand assets.
https://cdn.prod.website-files.com/68d6ca150ffa11fdc25d7575/699fd6d541e09471842a5bb2_Agility%20Robotics%20Press%20Kit.zip
Source hierarchy note
SEC filings control the existence and structure of the proposed business combination. GXO controls confirmation of its customer agreement. Agility’s own materials control product descriptions, internal milestones and company-reported operating figures; those claims are not treated as independent performance validation.

